THE MAGISTRATE COURT OF HOUSTON COUNTY
89 Cohen Walker Drive
Warner Robins, Georgia 31088
Phone (478) 987-4695 Fax (478) 987-5255
Hours: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
magistrate@houstoncountyga.gov

The following is a list of current Dispossessory filing fees for the
Magistrate Court of Houston County.
The Court allows the following payment options: Cash (exact amount), Company Checks and/or
Money Orders.

DISPOSSESSORY FILING FEES:

One Defendant ..o e e, $109.00
plus (3) COPIES OF ALL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS
TWO Defendants .. .oovevriieeee et e et enanneeas $159.00
plus (5) COPIES OF ALL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS
Three Defendants ....oovvrretiie e ettt ereeennaneeneaes $209.00
plus (7) COPIES OF ALL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS
Each additional Defendant tobe served. .. .....oovvvveiiiieiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeennnnns $50.00
RE-S Ve F e oottt e e e e $50.00
{per Defendant)

Please Note; The Plaintiff must provide copies of the lease or note, payment

ledger, notices, and all other supporting documents.

MILITARY AFFIDAVITS ARE REQUIRED ON ALL DEFENDANTS

*QOnline Case Search is now available *

http://www.houstoncountyga.gov

(Click the online services tab and from the drop down menu you can select

the Magistrate Court Case Search)



IN THE MAGISTRATE COURT OF HOUSTON COUNTY, GEORGIA

Case No. . Date Filed:

PLAINTIFF(S) (Name and Address) VS. DEFENDANT (S) (Name and Address)
AFFIDAVIT FOR DISPOSSESSORY WARRANT

Personally appeared ___ affiant, who on oath says:

That Plaintiff herein, is the owner of premises situated and known as:
Apt./St. No, __ (Complex/St.)
(City) Houston County, Georgia; and affiant is { ) the Plaintiff { ) Plaintiff’s attorney-at-law

( ) Plaintiff’s attorney in fact ( ) Plaintiff’s agent.

That Defendant(s) herein, is/are in possession, as tenants, of the subject premises, indicated above,
That Defendant’s tenancy was ( ) at will () at sufferance ( ) under a written agreement.

That () tenant fails to pay rent now due thereon; ( ) tenant is holding said premises over and beyond the term for which the
same were rented or leased to him () the term has been terminated by the Plaintiff, with notice to tenants, for the reason that

That Plaintiff desires possession of said premises; and, after expiration, termination of default. Plaintiff has demanded possession of
said premises and the same has been refused by said defendant(s); and, this affidavit is made that a warrant may issue for the removal
of said defendant(s) together with is property from said premises.

That attorney’s fees are provided for in said lease, and pursuant to O.C.G.A 13-1-11, Plaintiff has advised Defendant of Plaintiff’s
intention to enforce this provision. Yes No

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff demands:

(a) Possession of the premises; (b) past due rent of § : {¢) rent accruing up to the date of judgment or
vacancy at the rate of § per day as computed from : (d) accrued interest at the rate of %
from (e) attorney’s fees in the amount of § .
(f) late fees of .; and, (g) Court Cost.
AFFIANT SIGNATURE
Sworn to and subscribed before me Filed in office
This day of 20 . This day of 20 .
(DEPUTY) Clerk, Magistrate Court of Houston Count; (DEPUTY) Clerk o

or Notary Public
NOTICE AND SUMMONS

TO THE ABOVE-NAMED DEFENDANT (s):

You are hereby commanded and required, either personally or by attorney, to appear and present an answer to the affidavit,
on the reverse side hereof, during the regular business hours, Monday through Friday, at the Magistrate Court of Houston County, 89
Cohen Walker Drive, Warner Robins (31088) on or before the SEVENTH (7%) day from the date of service of this summons upon you
(or on the first business day thereafter IF the seventh day falis on a Saturday, Sunday, or Legal Holiday) Your answer may be given
either orally or in writing; and may contain any legal or equitable defenses or counterclaim against the plaintiff. The SEVENTH (7™)
day after the date of service of this summons is the last possible date for your answer. If you fail to answer as required, a Writ of
Possession and judgment for the amount claimed due by plaintiff will be granted without further notice to you.

WITNESS THE HONORABLE JUDGES, MAGISTRATE COURT OF HOUSTON COUNTY, GEORGIA

This day of 20

(DEPUTY} Clerk of Court



Application for Dispossessory Warrant

1. Plaintiff (Landlord)

2. Legal name of titleholder of premises (if different from #1)

3. Applicant

4. s an interpreter needed in this case? If so, provide the language(s) required.

5. Mailing address for Plaintiff:

afreet Address

City State Zip Phone # for Plaintiff
Email Address;
6. Name of Defendant(s) / Tenants(s)

1. 2.
3. 4. _
7. Leased Premises:
Street Address
City State Zip Phone # for Defendants(s)

8. Type of Tenancy: ( )Written Lease ( ) At Will (Verbal) ( ) At Sufferance

9. Reason for Eviction: { ) Failure to Pay Rent ( ) Term Expired ( ) Breach of Lease ( ) Other
(Explain Here) - -

10. Has Landlord demanded possession after breach of termination? Yes No
How? ( YWritten ( )}Verbal
11. If tenancy at Will was tenant given 60 days’ notice to vacate? Yes No

How? Written  Verbal
12. If written agreement, does it provide both parties may collect attorney fees? Yes  No
If yes, has notice been sent of intention to enforce attorney fee provision? Yes No
If yes, what is the measure of attorney fees? $

13. Amount of rent per month $

14. Totat amount of rent now due $

15. Total late charge pastdue:  §
Total amount due (RENT + LATE FEES, and other fees including Utilities) $

(Do not calculate court cost, it will be automatically added to your total.)
This is only your application. Any money requested must be included on your Affidavit for Dispossessory Warrant

16. Has Plaintiff filed a dispossessory against this Defendant in the past 12 months? Yes No

17. What type of service do you want? Personal Tack

Note: If a case is tacked and no answer is filed, possession only will be issued in a Default Judgment. If a case
is tacked and an answer is filed, a court date will be given, and a possible money judgment may be issued.




I hereby acknowledge I have been informed of the following sections of the Code Ordinances of
Houston County, Georgia.

Sec. 50-25. Disposal of personal property after the issuance of a writ of possession.

Upon the issuance of a writ of possession pursuant to O.C.G.A. 44-7-550, the owner of the
premises subject to the writ shall cause any personal property of the tenant removed from the premises to
be placed in a container for pick up. The owner shall not violate any other provisions of the Code as to
the location of the container.

If the owner does not have a utility account at the premises subject to the writ with the county
utility department, it shall be the responsibility of the owner to transport or have transported to the county
landfill or some other permitted landfill any personal property containerized after the execution of the
writ, within seven days being put out for pick up.

The county of its agent will not transport any items it would not transport pursuant to other
provisions of the Code, including, but not limited to, construction and demolition materials. (Amd. Of 10-
20-09, Amd. of 9-7-10)

Sec 1-11. General penalty; continuing violations.

(a) Whenever in this Code or in any other ordinance of the county any act is prohibited or is made or
declare to be unlawful or an offense, or the doing of any act is required or the failure to do any act is
declared to be unlawful, where no specific penalty is provided thereof, the violation of such provision
shall be punishable for the first two offenses by the imposition of a fine not to exceed $1,000.00, and for
the third offense by the imposition of a fine not to exceed $1,000.00, imprisonment, or up to the limits of
any penalty provided by state law for the ordinance.

(b) Each day any violation of this Code or other ordinance shall continue shall constitute a separate
offense.

{Amend. Of 10-6-09)

This day of , 20

Petitioner



IN THE MAGISTRATE COURT OF HOUSTON COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA
Plaintiff, -
v, Case Number
Defendant,
MILITARY AFFIDAVIT

The undersigned, after first being duly sworn, states the following:
1.
I am of age, of sound mind, and legally authorized to sign this affidavit on behalf of the
Plaintiff.
2.
This affidavit is executed pursuant to the Service Members Civil Relief Act, 50
U.S.C.App. 521. Affiant further acknowledges any false statement made in this affidavit may
subject the affiant to imprisonment not to exceed one year and a fine.

3.
Affiant states the Defendant, ,( )is,( )isnot,
or () unable to determine, a member of the military forces of the United States.

4,
Affiant is personally knowledgeable of the facts contained in this affidavit and affirms
the information contained herein is true and correct.

This day of , 20
Signature
Printed name:
Title:
Sworn to and subscribed before me
this day of , 20
NOTARY PUBLIC

https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/home



THE MAGISTRATE COURT OF HOUSTON COUNTY
89 Cohen Walker Drive
Warner Robins, Georgia 31088
Phone (478) 987-4695 Fax (478) 987-5255
Hours: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Angela W. Sammons Gina Stout
Chief Magistrate Magistrate

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING A DISPOSSESSORY CASE
IN THE MAGISTRATE COURT OF HOUSTON COUNTY

Welcome to the Magistrate Court of Houston County. The information contained herein is
intended to provide you with general knowledge of the process for filing a dispossessory case in the
Magistrate Court. It is not a complete disclosure of all legal action available to you. Therefore, you
should carefully research your options and understand the consequences of any action you undertake.
The clerks are available to assist you. However, they cannot advise you how to handle your case,
nor are they are authorized to offer legal advice. If you are unsure how to proceed with your case,
please seek counsel from an attorney.

Definitions:

1. Tenancy at Will: Any rental agreement with no set date of termination.

2. Tenancy at Sufferance: Arises when one comes into possession of land by  lawful right,
whether as a tenant or otherwise, but wrongfully remains in possession of the property.

When a bank forecloses, the prior owner who remains on the property may become a tenant at
sufferance.

3. Leasehold Tenant: Is a tenant who has a written lease with all the necessary terms of a lease in
the contract.

4. Tenant Holding Over: Is a tenant who holds possession of property beyond the term for which
the premises were leased.

General Provisions:
There are three common grounds for dispossession of a tenant
1. The tenant’s failure to pay rent when due
2. The tenant’s holding over beyond the term of the lease or rental agreement; or

3. The landowner desires return of the property being held by a tenant at will or at sufferance.
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PROCEDURES FOR A DISPOSSESSORY PROCEEDING

1. The property which is the subject of the dispossessory proceeding must be located in Houston
County, Georgia. There is no limitation to the amount of money that can be sought in a dispossessory
action filed in the Magistrate Court.

2. Prior to filing a dispossessory, the landlord must make demand for possession of the premises.
This demand may be delivered orally or in writing. The demand must be made after the tenant defaults
on the terms of the lease, but before the landlord files the dispossessory action.



3. The Magistrate Court provides forms for dispossessory proceedings, including an application
and an Affidavit for Writ of Possession. It is the responsibility of the landlord to provide properly
complete the affidavit. After the affidavit is prepared, the applicant must swear to the truthfuiness of the
information contained in the affidavit. If the landlord is seeking past due rent, copies of the lease and the
payment ledger should also be attached to the original affidavit and the Defendant’s service copy. All
court costs must be paid when the affidavit is filed.

4, When the affidavit is filed with the Court, the Clerk will issue a summons that is served on the
Defendant by the Sheriff’s Office. The summons requires the tenant to file an answer to the affidavit
within seven days of the service date. However, if the seventh day is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal
holiday, the answer may be filed on the next day the Court is open. Service of the summons and affidavit
can be made by personal service, notorious service, or tack and mail service.

5. If a Defendant is served with the Plaintiff’s summons and affidavit and fails to file an answer, a
Writ of Possession may be issued. When a Defendant is personally or notoriously served, a money
judgment may be included in the Writ of Possession. However, if the Plaintiff does not attach a lease and
a payment ledger to the affidavit, the case will be scheduled for Court. When service is provided by tack
and mail and the Defendant fails to answer, the Court can only issue a Writ of Possession. The Court
cannot consider the issue of money damages when the case is in default and the Defendant receives tack
and mail service. Furthermore, if a Defendant is in default and a Military Affidavit has not been
filed with the Court, the case will be scheduled for hearing.

6. If the Defendant files an answer to the Plaintiff’s affidavit, a trial will be scheduled. Money
damages may be considered by the Court if the Defendant is personally or notoriously served or if the
Defendant files an answer to the Plaintiff’s affidavit. Trials held in dispossessory cases are conducted in
the same manner as trials in civil cases.

7. Answers filed by Defendants should be filed with one of the Clerks of the Court. Answers may
raise any alleged defense and include a counterclaim against the landlord. Answers can be made in
writing or orally. Any oral answer filed must be made in person. At trial, the Plaintiff must prove all
allegations contained in his affidavit. If the Plaintiff is seeking unpaid rent, he must prove how he arrived
at the amount of rent requested. If the Defendant disagrees with the amount of rent claimed by the
Plaintiff, he needs to present evidence contradicting the Plaintiff’s claims. After all evidence is presented,
the Court will determine who is entitled to possession of the property and if money damages are due. A
written order will be issued and mailed to all parties.

8. All claims arising from the landlord-tenant relationship should be asserted in one case. A party
is barred from presenting a claim or counterclaim arising from the same transaction in a piecemeal
manner. Ifa party elects to divide a claim into separated actions, he risks having entry of judgment in the
first case operating as a bar to recovery in any subsequent cases.

9. If the tenant appeals the Court’s decision, he may remain in possession of the property if he
continues to pay rent in an amount determined by law, into the registry of the Court. Appeals of
dispossessory actions for possession of the property must be filed within seven days of the date of
judgment. If the Defendant is appealing the money judgment and not possession of the property, the
appeal must be filed with the Court within 30 days of the Court order. Appeals are heard in the State
Court or Superior Court.
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